Tweets by @WISARC2015

First International Workshop on Information Security, Assurance and Reliability in the Cloud (WISARC)

In conjunction with UCC 2015
8th IEEE/ACM International Conference on Utility and Cloud Computing
December 7-10, 2015, Limassol, Cyprus


WISARC 2015 will run as a special session after CloudSPD on Thursday, the 10th of December, so that the attendees interested in security matters will have an interesting lineup. The following papers will be presented at the workshop:


Cloud computing is nowadays a key enabling technology in the IT world. Adopting or moving to the cloud raises security concerns, spanning from confidentiality issues due to data outsourcing, to regulation and jurisdiction problems, which have been the focus of researchers and security solutions manufacturers in the past few years. Cloud computing effectively increased the attack landscape and brought security issues of its own. On the other hand, it also provided new means to deal with threats, and it constitutes an environment where fundamentally different information security approaches need to be devised, involving often a multidisciplinary effort in disciplines such as cryptography, networking, software development, system architecture, among others. This workshop aims to attract innovative research works and foster discussions addressing technical, policy and legal issues of information security, assurance and reliability in cloud computing environments, elaborating on distinguished and emerging topics that are of interest to both the academia and the industry.

Topics of Interest

The Technical Program Committee of WISARC 2015 invites researchers and practitioners to prepare high-quality submissions describing unpublished theoretical or practical research related with cloud security. Topics of interest include (but are not limited to) the following:

* Architecture security of web services and web protocols;
* Assurance of data sanitization in the Cloud;
* Auditability of cloud systems;
* Big data and log analysis;
* Cloud and BYOD integration security;
* Cloud availability and resources starvation;
* Cloud computing cybercriminality, APTs and cybersecurity;
* Cloud-focused attacks;
* Cloud forensics;
* Cryptography for the Cloud;
* Cryptography in trust models and trusted computing technology;
* Enforcement of security in hybrid clouds;
* Interclouds security;
* Modern malware analysis;
* Multi-factor auth (authentication and authorization);
* Network perimeter security, monitoring and SIEM in the cloud for incident response;
* Privacy and anonymization in cloud systems;
* Reliable and privacy-preserving outsourced storage and distributed computing;
* Secure (federated) identity management and SSO architectures;
* Secure and reliable cloud programming models;
* Secure generation and management of cryptography secrets in VMs;
* Security issues in software-defined networks;
* Security of open-source cloud software;
* Trust and policy management in cloud systems;
* Virtualization and sandbox security and VM isolation assurance.

Important Dates

Paper submission due: extended to August 22, 2015 (UTC midnight)
Notification of acceptance: September 15, 2015
Camera Ready and author registration: September 21, 2015
Workshop: December 7-10, 2015


Manuscripts submitted to this workshop should be structured as technical papers and may not exceed six (6) single-spaced double-column pages using 10-point size font on 8.5x11 inch pages using the IEEE conference style. The page limit includes title, abstract, figures and references. Submissions exceeding the page limit will not be reviewed. Manuscripts must be received by August 22, 2015.
Submissions must be in PDF format and issued via EasyChair by following the link:

All manuscripts will be reviewed by the Technical Program Committee and evaluated on originality, relevance of the problem to the workshop theme, technical strength, rigor in analysis, quality of results, and organization and clarity of the presentation. Submitted papers must represent original unpublished research that is not currently under review for any other conference or journal. Papers not following these guidelines will be rejected without review and further action may be taken, including (but not limited to) notifications sent to the heads of the institutions of the authors and sponsors of the conferences. Authors may contact the Program Chairs using the the email addresses included below for further information or clarification.

Notification of review decisions will be mailed by August 21, 2015. Camera-ready papers are due by September 21, 2015. Published proceedings will be available at the conference. At least one author of each paper must be registered for the conference in order for the paper to be published in the proceedings. Presentation of an accepted paper at the workshop is a requirement for publication also. There is no student rate for the author responsible for the registration of his/her published paper. In case of having more than one accepted paper, authors have to register for each one individually. There is no discount associated with having more than one paper accepted.

Call for Papers Downloads

Call for Papers (CFP) available for download in TXT and in PDF.

Program Co-Chairs

Diogo A. B. Fernandes (dfernandes(at)
Portugal Telecom, Portugal

Pedro R. M. Inácio (inacio(at)
University of Beira Interior and Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal

José Alegria (jose-alegria(at)
Portugal Telecom, Portugal

Technical Program Committee

Aleksandra Mileva, Goce Delcev University, Macedonia
António Casimiro, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Damien Magoni, University of Bordeaux, France
Denis Butin, TU Darmstadt, Germany
Diogo A. B. Fernandes, Portugal Telecom, Portugal
Giampaolo Bella, University of Catania, Italy
Hugues Mercier, University of Neuchatel, Switzerland
José Alegria, Portugal Telecom, Portugal
Mário M. Freire, University of Beira Interior, Portugal
Miguel P. Correia, University of Lisbon, Portugal
Neeraj Mittal, University of Texas at Dallas, United States of America
Patrik Ekdahl, Ericsson AB, Lund, Sweden
Pedro R. M. Inácio, University of Beira Interior and Instituto de Telecomunicações, Portugal
Rui Miguel Silva, Polytechnic Institute of Beja, Portugal
Simona Bernardi, Centro Universitario de la Defensa, Zaragoza, Spain